No Processed Foods

So, I’m trying to figure out my diet.  My goal is whole food Vegan….but what does that mean?

First – it probably means I shouldn’t have sushi every day. But, let’s be honest, I love it. Is it the best thing for me?  Maybe not, but there are (I’m sure) worse things that I’ve eaten lately.  So – it will be the last thing that I will take out of my diet. But, even cooking is processing…so I have to change my thoughts (and comments) to “minimally processed” foods.  I like this definition of “processed.”

Let’s look at my current meals and see where I could make them better:

Breakfast – Veggie tacos with corn tortillas and olive hummus

  • Veggies – all organic, I cook up the mix myself. I only add a little olive oil 2-3 Tablespoons per batch which makes a weeks worth of veggies).  I add a little bit of natural (non fortified) salt.  I’m OK with this part!
  • Corn tortilla – Organic and made form Whole corn, water, and a trace of lime. No other ingredients, and even though it is “processed” – I think it’s pretty decent.  I tried making my own once and learned that it is quite the project.
  • Hummus – Way better than some of the other hummuses that I’ve seen – at least there is no sugar and stuff like that in it!  Contains chickpeas, water, canola oil, sesame tahini, Kalamata olives, sea salt, garlic, lemon, and citric acid.  Hmmm….I think this can be a little better if it didn’t have the canola oil (seriously – when does one eat canolas?) and citric acid. I looked up some recipes and it seems pretty easy. 2 cloves of garlic, 2 Tablespoons of tahini, a can of chickpeas (I can get organic!), 1/2 cups of olives, 2 Tbsp of lemon, a dash of salt, and blend.  I’m actually going to try this out when the hummus I have runs out!

Snack – Kind Fruit and Nut bar

  • I usually have the basic Fruit and Nut bar (ingredients: Mixed nuts (peanuts, almonds, brazil nuts, walnuts), dried fruit (raisins, apricots [apricot paste, glycerol (vegetable based), pectin, citrus fiber, citric acid], dates], honey, chicory fiber, non GMO glucose, puffed rice, flax seeds, soy lecithin) or the Apple Cinnamon Walnut Bar (ingredients: Dried apple, almonds, cashews, pecans, raisins, honey, non GMO glucose, crisp rice, chicory fiber, flax seed, soy lecithin, cinnamon).
  • There are two ways to look at this: They are good – I would never get that mix of nuts, as I tend to eat just almonds or pistachios (I love pistachios), they are super easy to get to, and I likely wouldn’t have anything that resembles fruit in the AM. I just don’t like most fruit (unless it’s summertime and local!).  They are bad – WKoF (What kind of food?) is glycerine, pectin, citrus fiber, citric acid, chicory fiber, glucose, soy lecithin…and how the hell do they puff rice anyway?
  • The reality is that these are simple, easy, mostly healthy, and calorie contained. I could get some raisins and nuts, but my nut selection will be limited.  Let me stew on that one.

Lunch: Greens cooked with pepperoncini and vegan chili.

  • Um…I can’t mess with this meal. I was adding rice, since the chili wasn’t enough…but the greens fixed that. This will change once the weather warms up…and I also like it when I get some roasted cauliflower in there as well…but then I’m farting up a storm!

Snack: Fruit smoothie

  • One banana, about 3/4 cup of berries and about 3/4 cup of pineapple, with 2 tablespoons (1/2 cup?) of apple juice.  Hmmm..this is my only source of fruit during the day. It was pointed out to me that it was a lot of sugar all at once.  I agree with this – but the truth is, I never crash in the afternoons with this, and it seems the banana slows down the processing enough so it fuels me well through these PM workouts.  On the other hand, I’m usually full after half of it and I tend to slam the second half.
  • I think this week I’m going to try to split my smoothie in half and do half in the AM and half in the PM?  Maybe with the AM snack and a few nuts?

Dinner: Sushi roll.

  • #1 – I need to stop going out and eating for a while until my healthy self gets back on track.  I have gotten back into an old habit 0f “only when I’m eating out” I can have anything I want. I need to find place and meals where life can be a bit minimally processed.
  • Next – the rice. It is WAY processed. My sushi place started offering brown rice as an option. I think I’m going to switch!

Action Plan:

  • Make my own hummus – anyone know how long that stays good for?
  • Nuts and half a smoothie for AM snack – I still have a lot of the fruit and nut bars (30 or so) – I will use them on days I don’t have the time.
  • Lunch – remember the greens!
  • PM snack – only half a smoothie – we’ll see how the mood fits.
  • Dinner – brown rice with the sushi.

Between these steps and some exercise, I should be seeing those numbers go down again!

Leave a Reply

